mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

Saving Money

I have been using coupons for a few years now and I try to get the best deals as I can. I am not an extreme couponer but I use what I have access to and what does not take up all my time to do. I thought I would share a couple of my secrets that I use to help those like me who likes to use coupons but that do not have time or energy to make it their full time job.

First I start online. Almost all of my coupons come from online resources. I very rarely get the paper especially since we don’t live in a big city I never see the big good coupons that you always see on TV from the extreme couponers.

I will first go to swagbucks.com to their coupon section. There coupons are the same as the coupon.com site. When you print a coupon and use it in the store you are given 10 points for each. So it is kind of double dipping already. It is a easy way to add points towards your wish list on swagbucks. I then go to Target.com and print off the coupons that I find from there. At target you can use a manufactured coupon along with the Target coupon. So I then match up all coupons that I have. The next step that I do is watch the ad. I check out the target ad on Sunday to see what they have on sale and what coupons I have to try to get the best deal. At target you also need to check some of their products will also give you gift cards for buying certain product. I do this a lot with diapers. I combine coupons and then I wait for them to have their buy 2 get a 5 or 10 dollar gift card.

Some Walmart’s will take other stores coupons. Those Walmart’s that will do so you can also price match on top of it. I think they are starting to crack down on taking other stores coupons though.

My next place to watch is Dillon’s. First off they double coupons everyday up to a $1. This is helpful for all those coupons that you get that are just $.25 or $.50 each. I find that you really have to watch for their sale items. If their item is not on sale you probably want to wait on it. They also run a lot of when you buy 10 items it is at a cheaper price. This is nice when you can mix and match and can use or stock up on those items.

The best part of Dillon’s is their gift cards. You are able to buy gift cards for different stores and you can get 2x the fuel points. You earn 1 point for every dollar that you spend towards money off of gas. So for every $100 spent you get .10 cents off. This doesn’t sound like much or that it would be worth it for 10 or 20 cents off but here is the kicker. There is a way to double dip. You can buy a gift card for Dillon’s for the amount that you need for gas. (You don’t get points for the gas you get there) This will get you 2x the amount towards your fuel points. So this will help you add up the points for your gas and help you save on gas all at the same time. Hopefully this will help us save some money on gas while it continues to go up. So far just by using the gift cards I have been able to get .50 cents off per gallon of gas. This adds up when I drive a mini van and only get 20 miles to the gallon.

I hope this will help some one out there that needs a little help saving money but does not have time to make it their job. I will hopefully being adding to this list as I learn more and find more websites that will help with saving money.

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

