mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

September 11 2001 Always Remembered

The anniversary of 9/11 is upon us. This day will always remembered from the events, to where you were, to things that happened in the days and even weeks after. 9/11 will be remembered like Pearl Harbor, or the Oklahoma City bombing. These events will always be remembered and told over and over to those who lived through it and down from generation to generation.

Here is my story of 9/11. A little back story, I grew up and lived in Saltsburg PA which is about an hour and a half from Shanksville PA. I still have a lot of family late lives around that area. Now my story begins. Since moving down to Missouri I had started babysitting for a family. I would go to their house and get them ready for school, take them to school, and then would pick them up from school and watch them through that evening. On the morning of 9/11 I had dropped the kids off at school in the morning. I then returned home and decided to go back to bed for a bit. I was sleep with the tv on so it was just on one of the local channels. The tv woke me up and I look at the tv and saw that one of the towers were on fire and the smoke. Being woken up and not completely awake I thought that it had turned to a movie and no longer the news. I then changed the channel to another channel for it to turn to the same thing. At this point I realized that it was not a movie and was the news. I quickly sit up and turn the volume up and see what is going on. I remember I just started crying and could not believe what I was seeing. I also remember Matt Laur was on try to explain and comprehend what he was seeing and what was going on. I also remember watching the second plane hit the 2nd tower. At this point between tears I was just sitting there trying to figure out what was going on. Thinking about how I was just there 2 years before that for my class senior trip.

I am just glued to the tv at this point trying to take in everything I could on what had happened and what was going on. At the same time realizing that everything that we once knew would never be the same. At this point I am also starting to worry about my family that is still up in PA. Worried if there are more planes and what else could happen since the unthinkable has already happened. Between 2 planes into the Trade Tower and 1 plane into the Pentagon how many more planes are there. Soon after that I hear about the plane that goes down in Shanksville PA. I then really begin to be afraid for my family. I start trying to call my dad who still lives near there in Indiana PA. I of course had a very hard time getting through on the phone. It took me a while before I could finally get ahold of him.

It was very hard to leave the tv. I hated to leave and miss anything and everything that was going on. I already felt helpless since I could not do or go anywhere to help. There was a lot of crying and praying that was going on that morning. I prayed for all those lives, all those families, all those firemen, everyone who was and still is impacted from these tragedies.

That afternoon I had to go pick up the kids from school. I went early to talk to the mom about what had happened and what to do with the kids. They were still pretty little so the mom didn’t want them knowing yet and that she wanted to let them know what had happened on her time. This is very difficult to watch them having to act normal which is so not what any of that day was. It was very hard not to cry or be off thinking about everything that happened that day. It was a day that I was very thankful for being where I was and still here. Thankful for a president that was going to take action and did soon after he found out. Thankful that we live in America that has the freedoms that we do and the people who help give us that freedom.

I am so thankful to God for the heroes on Flight 93 for not allowing that plane to go down on/in another building. I thank God for the firemen, police officers, and first responders that ran into a building that was on fire and could collapse at any point in time. I thank God for those heroes on each floor that helped others and did everything that they could do to help everyone else before themselves. I thank God for the military that has gone to battle to make sure that we have the freedoms that we have. I thank God for all the heroes that we don’t even know about.

On this day I hold my boys, my family, my everything a little tighter. I pray that all those impacted that are still recovering each day get a little easier. We will never forget and will tell the story from generations to come.

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

