mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

Thanksgiving Dinner

As I was thinking about Thanksgiving and what I was going to make I thought I would start a post that I will update all the way until Thanksgiving with my recipes for the meal that I will be preparing for my family and in laws. After our meal on Thanksgiving I will also add pictures of the process a long with the finished product. To begin my list here is the items that I will be making:

Turkey: After thawing out the turkey I then removed the neck and the bag with the heart and giblets out. I then rinsed out the turkey. I am using this year a oven bag. So we will see how that works. It is supposed to cook the bird fast and keep it pasting itself instead of you doing it. I also added salt and pepper all over the breast of the bird. And now it is ready to cook.

Stuffing: I first chop up the celery, onions, and a little bit of garlic and saute all of that in butter. Make sure not to over cook it. I also chopped up some mushrooms and add that to the stuffing mix. After the celery and onions are sauteed I then add all of that to the mix. The butter will help hold it all together. If it is still dry add some chicken stock to it until there is enough to be damp and hold together. I then take the stuffing and stuff my turkey. I stuff the front and back with as much as I can get in it. Whatever is left that did not fit in the turkey I then add it to a pie pan and will cook that for extras.

Mashed Potato: Peel all the potato and cut them up into water. Turn the water onto med high and let them cook until you can put a fork through them. Once they are soft you take a cup of the water and save it for the gravy. You then dump out the rest of the water. It is fine if some water stays at the bottom. Them start mashing. Add some milk and butter you can add to what is need to get the right texture that you are wanting. If you do not want to mash them by hand you can use a hand mixer.

Gravy: (mom’s recipe) Take the pan dripping plus one cup of potato water and 2-3 tablespoons of flour mixed with enough water to make a smooth thickening agent. Add a teaspoon of gravy master or kitchen bouquet. Simmer and stir until thick to suit. May have to add more flour mix depending on how much drippings you have.

Shoepeg Corn: Green Giant canned but tastes awesome and is a must try if you have not heard of it.

Green Bean Casserole: I first mix together one can of Cream of Mushroom soup with a 1/2 cup of milk and a couple of splashes of Soy Sauce. I then mix that all together and add 2 cans of cut Green Beans. I mix that all together and then crunch up a couple of handfuls of French Onions and mix that through it as well. I then put that all into a 9×13 pan at 350 and cook for about 20 mins. I then take it out and mix it add a few more onions on top and put it back in the oven for a few mins. Take it out and serve.

Biscuits: I cheat on this as well, this is from a can. Pillsbury makes a great butter biscuit that I will be baking.

Deviled Eggs: I first boil the eggs. I end up going a little long just to make sure but I normally do around 10 mins. I then cool them down in cold water and ice cubes if I am crunched for time. After they are cooled I peel all of the shells off. After all of the shells are off I then cut them in half and take all the yolk out and into a bowl. I then mush up all of the yolk and add miracle whip and sweet relish. I mix that all together and add until I have a got texture to hold up in the egg. I then scope a good helping into each egg.

Pumpkin Pie: Stay tuned for this link, my mothers recipe for the pie crust (SHHH don’t tell) This is the best pie crust and doesn’t take that long to make. This is for a single pie crust. 1/2 cup of Crisco, 1 1/2 cup of sifted Flour, 1/2 teaspoon of Salt, 3 Tablespoons of ice Water. Use glove or work quickly to mix Crisco through the flour and salt mixture until pea size or smaller pieces. Add water as needed to hold together in a ball. Keep as dry as possible. Place on piece of Saran Wrap. Use side of hand to make a tic tac toe marks on the ball, then cover with Saran Wrap and roll out until oversized for pie pan. Remove top Saran Wrap, flip dough into pan using wrap to support dough and work into corners. Fold over overlap and use fingers to flute. Then make your pumpkin pie mixture. I just followed the recipe on the back of the can. I then add that into the pie crust and cook according to can.

Cherry Pie: I used the above pie crust and then added 2 cans of Cherries in. I then add pieces of dough on top and then backed it at 375 for about an hour.

I think that is all. I will add to it if I think of something else to make.

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Dinner « mommato2boys

Leave a Reply

