mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have a cookie exchange coming up tomorrow morning so this evening I started making the best chocolate chip cookies! Austin enjoyed helping also. He loves to watch the mixer go and then of course he also has to turn on the light in the oven to watch them bake.

I am going to share with you the recipe with a few changes to make the best cookies I have had.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter softened but not melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips give or take depending on your preference

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Greased cookie sheets or lined with parchment paper. I like using the parchment paper cause it allows you to use the same sheet for baking all the cookies along with clean up of cookie sheet throwing the paper away.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a separate bowl.

In mixer mis together softened butter, brown sugar, and white sugar for about 5 mins on high. Then add in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended. Then stir in your desired amount of chocolate chips. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 2 inches apart.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the oven or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool.

*try to compress the dough tightly in our scoop when making your cookies. This seems to help keep the cookies from going flat.

20121202-223845.jpg

20121202-223855.jpg

Prep time is only about 10 mins and then cooking. My batch made a little over 3 dozen but will change depending on what size cookies you make.

I hope you enjoy!!

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Those look delicious! Chocolate chip cookies are my biggest weakness.

  2. I love me some chocolate chip cookies!

  3. I am super very much wanting some chocolate chip cookies now.

    These look great!

  4. I think I see my husband baking in the kitchen later today…. (I’ll be sure to slip him this recipe!)

Leave a Reply

