mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

Austin’s Birthday Party

Last Saturday we celebrated Austin’s 2nd Birthday with a small party with friends and family. We decided on a Barnyard Theme. Austin loves animals and can make most of the sounds the farm animals make so I thought that was perfect.

We decided to have it out at my in laws since they have 2 big rooms and we would be able to sit up tables and chairs for everyone to sit at. Austin’s party was from 2-4 in the afternoon so it was light snacks, cake, and ice cream.

To eat we made meatballs with BBQ sauce, bacon wrapped Chicken, chips and salsa, cheese and cracker tray, chex mix, and pretzels. I need to make a special Thank You to my father and mother in law for making the food for the party. They were able to make it and get it set out for me which helped while I was dealing with my horrible headaches. They did an amazing job and I am greatly appreciative for their hard work getting ready for the party and making the great food.

With the Barnyard Theme I found several decorations from Party City and Birthday in a Box online store. I got a few balloons that went with the theme and then got some balloons to match the color scheme of blue, red, and yellow. I got all of Austin’s balloons last year online and this year I only got a few online and the rest I got at Party City and Everything’s a Dollar. The balloons I was not impressed with this year. I will for now on order all my balloons whenever I order the decorations. The balloons last year stayed up on my ceiling for about 2 months time and the ones this year almost all of them have deflated. I didn’t go over the top with much decorations other then a lot of balloons. I think balloons can really make a room festive with out too much other stuff around. Plus the kids all loved playing with the balloons afterwards.

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I ordered Austin’s cake from Celebrations by Lori. I ordered Austin’s 1st Birthday day cake there and knew I had to go back to get his 2nd Birthday cake as well. Lori does an amazing job creating a cake that also tastes so so good. She took the Barnyard Theme and really recreated it on the cake. The cake had a barn along with a few animals and clouds. Lori was also able to make a fondant number 2 that looked great on top. I really think that Lori’s cake is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten not only the first day but the 2nd and 3rd day after serving it. When you order your cake from Lori make sure you have enough for you to eat for several days or you will regret it once you eat that first slice. I always have butter cream icing on the cake and Lori makes it just right. It is never too much that you can’t eat it. She also makes awesome cookies, cupcakes, and other great creations. Make sure you pop over to her page and check out her cakes and get your next cake ordered there. Celebrations by Lori books up quickly for dates since they only take so many per day to ensure they have the time to care and really give each cake the love needed to create it. I already have Alijah’s 1st Birthday cake on their books!!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Austin did a really good job of not touching the cake or candles. When I first lit the candle he started blowing them out. We had to stop him long enough to sing to him and then he blew them out. Austin was pretty good at blowing them out. It only took several tries to get them out.

Image

Image

Image

After we sang Happy Birthday to him we told him that cake was all his. He wasn’t so sure about that. He just kind of looked at it like what am I suppose to do. Of course this is the kid who since he was about 10 months old has had to eat with a fork and spoon at every meal. We had to convince he to just take a bite of it. He did a little bite but quickly asked for a fork so no messy cake pictures.

Image

Image

 After everyone got to eat cake and ice cream Austin got to open his presents. He got many gifts thanks to everyone who came and showered him with Love. I think several of his favorite toys would be a grow to pro golf set, piggie bank and money (piggie food as we call it), just like home microwave and cash register, along with other great gifts. Too many to list them all but Austin had played and enjoyed every single present that he has gotten for his birthday.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I want to thank everyone who came out to celebrate Austin’s Birthday. He had a great time and loved playing with all the kids who came to party with him. I also loved seeing all of our loved ones coming to celebrate my baby boy turning 2! You have all made this last weekend a very special time for Austin and I know he will remember this for a long time!!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 Happy Birthday my biggie boy.

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Austin’s Birthday Party

  1. What a lucky little boy! That’s a birthday to remember! Found you on the Follow Me forum at SITS. Have a great day!

  2. He is such a cutie! The cake was too beautiful to be eaten, I won’t dare to chow down even though you tell me to 😉

  3. That cake is so cute! I have a 19 month old boy so we are starting to think about his 2nd birthday party. THanks for sharing ideas. Found you through SITS Sharefest.

  4. This looks like a wonderful party! I love the cake!

Leave a Reply

