mommato2boys

My crazy but yet normal life with 2 boys.

Sugar Glitter

I found a while back a pin on Pinterest for edible glitter. I decided last night would be the perfect time to try it out since today we were going to decorate some cookies. Here is the ingredients needed to make this. 

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of food coloring

You mix the sugar and food coloring together and then bake it for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. I am not huge on measuring so I eye balled everything but did cook it for the 10 minutes. 

While it was cooking I wasn’t sure about it. It didn’t smell what I thought sugar would smell like when cooking it. The end result was not very glittery. It does look like the sugar decorating stuff that you buy in the store though. I am sure it cost a lot less making it this way a long with it not being very time consuming to do either. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

As  you can see in the last picture after cooking it does have a little sparkle to it. It just isn’t as glittery as I thought it was going to be. It still looked really good on the cookies and I will continue to make it like this instead of buying the store made ones. 

~Kim

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Sugar Glitter

  1. DIY projects are always hit or miss. Looks like you found a hit! Coming to say hi from SITS!

Leave a Reply

